“JVS is proud to be strengthening the Bay Area community by working with employers and community partners to train people with the in-demand skills and make the connections necessary for them to get good jobs and transform their lives.”

Abby Snay

Chief Executive Officer, JVS

Our Leaders

Abby Snay


Abby began her career with JVS in 1975 and served as Assistant Director before becoming Executive Director of JVS in 1984. Since then she has become JVS’s Chief Executive Officer, and under her leadership, the JVS budget has increased from $300,000 to over $10 million, the staff has grown from 15 to a team of 80. Abby serves as Board Chair of the National Skills Coalition, was appointed by Governor Brown to the California Workforce Investment Board and the State Rehabilitation Council and was appointed as the Workforce Representative of Mayor Lee’s Our Children, Our Families Council. Abby holds a bachelor’s degree in English and a master’s degree in Education from Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri. She has also completed executive education programs at Harvard School of Business and Stanford Graduate School of Business.

Rachael Brown

Vice President, Development

Lisa Countryman

Vice President, Grants and Program Development

Kathryn Beeley

Vice President, Finance

Beth Urfer

Director of Professional and Talent Development, Programs

Emma Hayes Daftary

Director of Client Services

Kevin Hickey

Director of High School and Bridge Programs

Jenn Gross

Director of Healthcare Programs

Claudia Gey

Director of Financial Services Programs

Sarah Jo Neubauer

Director of Job Search Accelerator

Dina Plotkin

Director of Information Technology

Lesley Davidson

Director of Human Resources

Board of Directors

JVS is led by community and business leaders who bring expertise in social change and the high-growth industries our job seekers are targeting.

Executive Committee

Michael Walker, Board President

Executive Vice President, City National Bank

Jim Koshland, Board President Emeritus

Partner, DLA Piper US, LLP

Max Simkoff, Board Vice President

Founder & CEO, States Title

René Kim, Board Treasurer

Senior Vice President, Client Solutions, Charles Schwab Bank

Ben Tulchin, Board Secretary

President, Tulchin Research

Board Members

Erran Berger

Vice President of Engineering for Feed and Content Products, LinkedIn

Carlos Bustos

Director of Human Resources – Bay Area South District, Macy’s Inc.

Jeffrey Chiu

Vice President of Human Resources, UCSF

Dana Corvin

Community Volunteer

Michelle Di Gangi

Executive Vice President, Bank of the West

Mardi Dier

Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, Portola Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Kari Dohn Decker

Managing Director, Corporate Responsibility, JP Morgan Chase

Nancy Grand

Community Volunteer

Maynard L. Jenkins III

Regional Vice President, Human Resources, Sutter Health West Bay Region

Karla Lee

Area Executive for Greater San Francisco, Bank of America

Greg Morgan

Executive Vice President and Region President, Greater San Francisco Region, Wells Fargo

Rachel Polish

Social Media Strategy and Communications Program Leader

Rebecca Prozan

Manager, Public Policy, Community and Government Affairs, Google, Inc.

Alexis L. Rask

Speaker, Coach, Advisor, Angel Investor, Tech Executive

Kirsten O. Wolberg

Vice President, Talent, PayPal

Susan Zetzer

Managing Director – Advisory Services, KPMG

Emeritus Council

Jean Strunsky, Chair
Max Bernstein
Lynn B. Bunim
John Brown
Andy Elkind
Shari Freedman
Peter Friend
Craig A. Howard
Eleanor Johns
Thomas M. Kasten
Jeffrey Lager
Maria Lazzarini
Anne Libbin
Elaine Lindenmayer
Rebecca Macieira-Kaufmann
Marlene Saritzky
Susan Portugal

Linda Rubinstein
Marty S. Schenker
Nancy Siegel
Dr. Linda Sonntag
Gabriel Speyer
Roselyne C. Swig
Lisa Toppin
Victoria Treyger
Sidney Tuchman
Melvin B. Wasserman
Judy Weil
Norman Zilber

Past Presidents

Dr. Natalie Berg*
Max Bernstein
John Brown
Lynn Bunim
Harry Cohn
Kenneth Colvin
David Z. Cook
Andy Elkind
Shari Freedman
Larry Kamer
Tom Kasten
Mark Kelsey
Jim Koshland
Rebecca Macieira-Kaufmann
Irving Rabin*
Leon Rosenthal*

Martin S. Schenker
Roselyne C. Swig
Sanford Tandowsky*
Michelle Waldgeir
Melvin B. Wasserman
Norman Zilber
Arthur Zimmerman*
*of blessed memory